Uhh Duhh, Technology Made Me Stoopid!

I was watching a documentary on technology and its affect on my generation and the younger generations intelligence.  Technology is continuously evolving and most people are trying to keep up.  Almost everyone has a cellphone and most people are texting or bbming (BlackBerry Messaging).  Now this is convenient for keeping in touch with everyone, but it seems to be diminishing our attention spans.  I know that for myself while I was in school, I noticed that many people could not go through a lecture without checking their phone.  If not their phone, they would be surfing the internet while on their laptops.  Myself, I was never a fan of bringing my laptop to class and before I would leave for class my phone went on silent and I would check it during break or when class was done.  It was unfortunate when professors would have to threaten students about surfing or being on their phones.  Although this may not be the case for all students, it is still an issue that has received great attention.  I think with time a solution can happen.

Hope is not lost for us, but we must also work on the younger generations so that mistakes are not repeated.  It is true that more children are technologically savvy, but it is up to the parents to decide how much exposure the children will have to all of these gadgets in their home environment.  We must remove this stigma from technology and realize that we have the control of how much time we spend on these devices.  They were made to make our lives more convenient.  So yes, it can be damaging to our intelligence if we are not careful of how we use these devices.

If you are interested in watching the documentary, you can go to http://www.cbc.ca/docs and it is called “Are We Digital Dummies?”.  Here is the trailer.

About Thoughtfulnessa

I love many things. I am a music lover, dancer, gadget lover and budding social media marketer. Hope you enjoy me sharing my everyday thoughts while tying in commercials or songs. I look forward to hearing all of your input! Have an awesome day!

Posted on May 20, 2011, in Things That Make Me Go Hmm.... Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

