Whoa You’re Human?

As I called a friend, I noticed I would have to enter an extension number.  I prepared for the automated voice to tell me what my next actions must be.  To my surprise I heard a real person greet me and unfortunately it threw me off.  I say unfortunately because I realized it has come to the point that we have become so accustomed to speaking to machines that it is abnormal for us to speak with humans.  Am I the only one who sometimes gets thrown off from human interaction when it comes to phones?

About Thoughtfulnessa

I love many things. I am a music lover, dancer, gadget lover and budding social media marketer. Hope you enjoy me sharing my everyday thoughts while tying in commercials or songs. I look forward to hearing all of your input! Have an awesome day!

Posted on August 2, 2011, in Things That Make Me Go Hmm.... Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. kristinesimpson

    This reaction is not at all uncommon.

    Just look at how most of us spend the day:
    – Checking emails
    – Checking up on friends through Facebook
    – Connecting with others through Twitter
    – Connecting with professionals through LinkedIn
    – And now just recently, checking on friends and connecting with people with Google+
    – We text our friends, parents and even our co-workers
    – We sit in an office and use communicator and email to talk to our co-workers

    I feel like the only human connection I feel in a day is when I get home to my boyfriend.

    The big question is: is this good for us? We still manage to connect and communicate with hundreds of people a day. Instead of writing letters we text. Is it all that different?

  2. I absolutely agree. I also find myself being guilty of not liking to talk on the phone that much anymore. It’s funny that you mentioned us not writing letters anymore, a few months ago my friend decided he wanted to write me a letter because he felt it was more personal than an e-mail. It’s just so interesting to see how technology is affecting our social interactions. Obviously there are many positive things about technology, but we need to mindful of how we are using it. Thanks for the comment Kristine!

Leave a Reply

