Has Social Media Made Me Socially Awkward

As I surf through the endless sea of tweets, I begin to think, “what should I tweet about today.”  I ponder about that and decide to check out what is happening in the world of Facebook.  I begin to realize I am a pro with “socializing” with people through social media tools.  But then begin to realize…I’m kind of socially awkward.  I get the jitters when I have to make a phone call and wish they would just send me their e-mail instead.  Although I consider myself to have decent communication skills, at times I feel like I am at a loss for words when interacting with people.  But when I am using Twitter or Facebook, there is no issue because I am “socializing” with a missing component…face-to-face interaction.  Something that my instructors used to tell me in my studio dance days was,  “fake it till you make it.”  So fake it I shall when interacting with others.  Do not get me wrong, I love meeting new people (to a certain extent), but there is still an underlying anxiety when it occurs.  But to be totally honest, I probably can’t blame that on social media….or can I?

About Thoughtfulnessa

I love many things. I am a music lover, dancer, gadget lover and budding social media marketer. Hope you enjoy me sharing my everyday thoughts while tying in commercials or songs. I look forward to hearing all of your input! Have an awesome day!

Posted on September 1, 2011, in Things That Make Me Go Hmm.... Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

