Good People

I would consider myself to be a fairly positive person. Therefore, I like to surround myself with positive people. This past week I had the pleasure of meeting Kevin Frost. For those of you who are not familiar with him, he is a speed skater with Usher Syndrome. According to Wikipedia

“Usher syndrome (sometimes referred to as “Usher’s syndrome”) is a relatively rare genetic disorder that is a leading cause of deafblindness and that is associated with a mutation in any one of 10 genes. Other names for Usher syndrome include Hallgren syndrome, Usher-Hallgren syndrome, rp-dysacusis syndrome and dystrophia retinae dysacusis syndrome.[1] Usher syndrome is incurable at present; however, using gene therapy to replace the missing gene, researchers have succeeded in reversing one form of the disease in knockout mice.[2]”

If you would like to find out more information in detail, you can check it out on Wikipedia. So think about it, this man has limited vision and hearing yet he is speed skating! Anywho, as I mentioned earlier, I had the pleasure of meeting him…honestly one of the most genuine and nicest people I have met in a while. He was regaling us with stories from his trip to Mexico and all of the wonderful contributions he made while there. He is an active member in his community and always open to lending a helping hand. As someone who is looking to further my career, he offered a helping hand after only meeting me for a few hours. After meeting him I was grinning from ear to ear. But it was not only just him, the people that were at the meeting are all extremely happy people. You cannot help but be happy when you are with people who have a pleasant energy about themselves. So that is why I continuously try to surround myself with good people. Sorry, negativity is too draining. Hope everyone has a great week and I highly recommend you check out Kevin Frost’s webpage, Facebook page and Twitter!

Website: http://www.deafblindspeedskater.com/

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Kevin-Frost-Usher-Syndrome-Deaf-Blind-Speed-Skater/176154052468601

Twitter:@kevinspeedskate

About Thoughtfulnessa

I love many things. I am a music lover, dancer, gadget lover and budding social media marketer. Hope you enjoy me sharing my everyday thoughts while tying in commercials or songs. I look forward to hearing all of your input! Have an awesome day!

Posted on November 14, 2011, in Things That Make Me Go Hmm... and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

