Pinterwhat?

I was reading an article about “Why Pinterest is 2012’s hottest website.”  For a few months now I have been hearing a lot about Pinterest (web based pinboard) and I checked it out, but still did not understand the allure of it.  What really caught my attention was why Pinterest was successful.  Peter Cashmore (CEO of Mashable.com)  discusses three points as to why audiences have gravitated towards Pinterest but also the type of audience we are becoming:

“The first is that sharing involves less effort over time.

The second is that social sites are becoming more visual over time.

And the third is that “people-centric” recommendations are being augmented by “topic-centric” networks — which is to say that while Facebook lets you explore the Web through information shared by friends, newer social networks organize content by topics of interest. Some in the technology industry call this the “interest graph.”

Pinterest heeds to all of those points.  As I continued to read the article, what I got from these various trends are that we are becoming lazy!  We no longer want to produce our own material and our forms of expression are being reduced to 140 characters(average amount on Twitter) or we just regurgitate(re post) what someone else has previously posted.  Granted, re posting does give you the opportunity to share something that you find interesting.  For myself at times I do find that I wish certain articles were shorter and would get to the point.  When it comes to posting I do have days where I find it difficult to figure out what to post.  Do you find yourself struggling posting original material on the various social media tools that you use?  Let me know!

Update: Just went on Pinterest again and I may bite the bullet and sign up, ahhhh.

About Thoughtfulnessa

I love many things. I am a music lover, dancer, gadget lover and budding social media marketer. Hope you enjoy me sharing my everyday thoughts while tying in commercials or songs. I look forward to hearing all of your input! Have an awesome day!

Posted on February 8, 2012, in Branding, Things That Make Me Go Hmm... and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

