The Power Of Social Media

I am sure that many of you have seen something about Joseph Kony and the Invisible Children in the past few days.  I have always heard about child soldiers and the horror that they have to endure in Uganda and various other places.  But for the past day or so, on my Facebook Timeline, “KONY 2012” has been showing up in my feed quite frequently.  After reading these various posts I decided to watch the video.  It really is a powerful video and if you have time I would suggest watching it.  As I watched this video, it reminded me that there is so much power in the various social media tools we use.  This campaign is trending on Twitter, they are on Facebook, Tumblr and Youtube.  For many we use these various tools as entertainment but it is also an informational sharing tool.  It seems as though this campaign has picked up so much momentum in such a short amount of time.  The film only premiered on the 5th of March and at this moment has had over 4 million hits on Youtube.  This is an amazing thing and I look forward to seeing how else social media can raise awareness about other world issues.

 

About Thoughtfulnessa

I love many things. I am a music lover, dancer, gadget lover and budding social media marketer. Hope you enjoy me sharing my everyday thoughts while tying in commercials or songs. I look forward to hearing all of your input! Have an awesome day!

Posted on March 7, 2012, in Things That Make Me Go Hmm... and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

