Music Monday: Ikebe Shakedown and SoulJazz Orchestra Recap

I think I am going to start writing a weekly segment called “Music Monday.”  I have discovered a lot of great music and I just recently went to an awesome concert and thought I would share my experience.  This past Thursday I went to the SoulJazz Orchestra concert.  Ikebe Shakedown opened for them and I must say they were amazing.  They are a Brooklyn-based group that plays a fusion of funky soul grooves, with an afro-inspired sound.  The first thing I noticed when I was listening to them was that the sound of their horns were so crisp!  I was not familiar with who they were beforehand, but I am definitely a new fan and will be getting all of their music.  They had a great energy and definitely had the audience moving and grooving.  After they were finished there was a DJ (I am sorry I forgot his name) that had the people jamming and shaking their good foot.  Then the Ottawa-based SoulJazz Orchestra came on stage and people were losing their minds.  I have to admit that their energy was awesome, you could not help but move as the drums and horns were being played.  You can clearly hear all of the different musical influences when they are playing (afro, jazz, latin, caribbean and soul). They finished with their high energy Tanbou Lou and had everyone clapping and chanting along to the beats.  Everyone could not stop clapping and yelled for more, so fittingly they played an encore.  All in all I had a great experience considering this was my first time really hearing both of these groups.  I will definitely be following up with their musical endeavors and I will keep you all posted.

If you are wondering how I even found out about them, it was through the power of outdoor posters.  I was walking down the street one day and I saw a poster with the words “SoulJazz Orchestra.”  Now, I am a fan of soul, jazz and classical music (I associate orchestra with classical music), so this poster caught my attention. Once I kept on reading the information I definitely decided I wanted to check out this band.  They did not disappoint.  Remember people, sharing is caring.  I would love for you guys to send me some music you think I should listen to! Have a great week!

Enjoy some live footage:

Ikebe Shakedown

SoulJazz Orchestra

About Thoughtfulnessa

I love many things. I am a music lover, dancer, gadget lover and budding social media marketer. Hope you enjoy me sharing my everyday thoughts while tying in commercials or songs. I look forward to hearing all of your input! Have an awesome day!

Posted on April 1, 2013, in Music, Music Monday and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

