Music Monday: Flying Lotus

Photo from last.fm

Photo from last.fm

When you first hear Flying Lotus, you probably think of martial arts or a flower.  But do not be mistaken my friend, Flying Lotus is a very talented producer and a sometime rapper that goes by the name of Captain Murphy.  Steven Ellison (that is his government name)  cannot be categorized, so people tend to say that he is a multi-genre artist.  If you HAD to categorize his music, you could just call it Experimental. You cannot deny his talent and if you look into his familial history, you will notice that he comes from a family of musical geniuses!  He is the grandnephew of the late jazz pianist Alice Coltrane and her husband saxophonist Johnny Coltrane (AMAZING!).  You cannot help but have a little bit of musical talent coming from a family connection like that.

One of his most recent collaborations has been with Cartoon Network (you read correctly!).  I should specify, he actually did music for Adventure Time (one of my guilty pleasures, don’t judge me!).  That sound is definitely not for everybody, but his collaboration with Erykah Badu is amazing!  Have a listen and I would love for all of you to share some musical suggestions.  Also if you are a musical artist please send me your stuff.  I am always looking for new music!

https://soundcloud.com/flyinglotus/flying-lotus-about-that-time-a

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A7lbY-THNHc

About Thoughtfulnessa

I love many things. I am a music lover, dancer, gadget lover and budding social media marketer. Hope you enjoy me sharing my everyday thoughts while tying in commercials or songs. I look forward to hearing all of your input! Have an awesome day!

Posted on August 12, 2013, in Music, Music Monday and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

