THE BOONDOCKS CAME BACK!

After much speculation that the Boondocks were coming back, I was extremely excited when there was an actual release date confirmed.  Unfortunately, I do not have Amercian Cartoon Network, so I had to stream the episode.  As excited as I was for the release of the new season, I was also hesitant because a large part of the show was no longer going to be involved; the creator Aaron McGruder was no longer involved in the last season of the Boondocks.  Although he was no longer a part of the project, I figured I would still give the new season a chance.  I watched the first episode today and as I was watching it, you could tell that McGruder’s voice was no longer being captured at least in this episode.  BUT! We still have a whole season to go.

The season premiere was about an R&B singer that goes by the name Pretty Boy Flizzy, which happens to be a loose interpretation of Chris “BREEZY” Brown. I thought they could have done so much more with the character.  What I always liked about McGruder’s voice was that he was never one to hold back when it came to societal and cultural commentary.  In this episode, I felt as though they briefly touched on it.  Like I said, there is still a whole season ahead and we will see what happens.  If you watched the season premiere, what were your thoughts?  I would love to hear them!

 

About Thoughtfulnessa

I love many things. I am a music lover, dancer, gadget lover and budding social media marketer. Hope you enjoy me sharing my everyday thoughts while tying in commercials or songs. I look forward to hearing all of your input! Have an awesome day!

Posted on April 22, 2014, in Branding, Things That Make Me Go Hmm... and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

