Tuney Tuesday: Chris Garcia- Chutney Bacchanal

I realized that I have not been writing about all of my musical exposures, but I will do my best in time.  This recent post will touch more on my Caribbean upbringing.  My parents are from Guyana which happens to be located in South America.  It is surprising how many people have not heard of it, but that is besides the point.  Growing up in a Guyanese household and going to all of the house parties, I was fortunate enough to be exposed to Reggae, Dancehall, Calypso, Soca and Chutney music.

When I make an effort to explain Chutney music to my friends, I tell them that it is a mixture of Soca music and Indian music.  I know that is fairly vague, but that is usually the best way that I can explain it.  I recently read up on Chutney music and did not realize that originally it was more of a religious music.  In terms of my exposure, the type of chutney music I was exposed to was mainly party songs.  One of the many songs that was a party favorite and will always be one of my favorites is Chris Garcia’s, Chutney Bacchanal.  This song gets me every time.  Hopefully you will enjoy it and I will definitely post another one of my favorite Chutney songs.  Enjoy!

About Thoughtfulnessa

I love many things. I am a music lover, dancer, gadget lover and budding social media marketer. Hope you enjoy me sharing my everyday thoughts while tying in commercials or songs. I look forward to hearing all of your input! Have an awesome day!

Posted on August 5, 2014, in Music and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

